Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


News Impac Impacts Hip-Hop with Debut Almost Famous
Impac Impacts Hip-Hop with Debut Almost Famous PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robert ID2881   
Wednesday, 26 July 2006 01:26

The Austin based hip-hop crew Impac has released their new album ‘Almost Famous’. The album is stores now on 33rd Street Records. Their explosive new album is executive produced by Checkmate and features production by Carnival Beats and Inertia of the Beats.

Originally assembled by Clinton Davis in 2004 by pulling members from a number of his hip-hop and rap affiliate groups, Impac were set to be the biggest supergroup in the South East. Nonetheless, the hip-hop group Impac has become rap artists Young Jay, Killa, Tank and Kidd.

Impac display their rap talent throughout ‘Almost Famous’ and prove that they are also the total package. They get flavor on the searing “Hold Up,” on the pounding “Right Tonight,” and kick street lessons on the track, “My Life.”

It is that type of insight that makes ‘Almost Famous’ such a significant album, as the group explores life’s highs and lows throughout each of the album’s 17 songs. Cuts such as “Problem With Me” and “Jump Back” best illustrate Impac’s brand of music with meaning. “We’re not concentrating on rapping for other rappers or rapping for the girls,” Young Jay says. “We’re trying to make real substance with everything we do. We were taught by the best and we can’t have it any other way.”

Indeed, Impac are already gearing up for the release of its next album, ‘Next Up’, set for a summer 2007 release and are setting up Above All Entertainment’s new artist Gutta. With each step, Impac is working on building on their career. That is one reason why ‘Almost Famous’ sounds so therapeutic.

“Everything we do is therapy,” Kidd says. “Everything we go through, we put it into our music. We learned that from Checkmate. That’s what music is about, experience. That’s why some people will rather listen to Ready to Die or Reasonable Doubt than what’s out now. It’s timeless when it comes from the heart. We’re trying to make music like that.” ‘Almost Famous’ does just that.

Track list for Impac – Almost Famous

1: Impac Chant (4:25)

2: Heeltoe (4:20)

3: Stop (4:12)

4: My Life (4:45)

5: Hold Up (3:58)

6: Move On (3:54)

7: Hit for the Streets (3:30)

8: Be with You (4:12)

9: Let Me Hear Something (4:14)

10: Make You Move (3:29)

11: Problem with Me (5:07)

12: Jump Back (3:30)

13: Right Tonight (4:31)

14: See What You Bout (3:36)

15: Outta Control (3:17)

16: Game on Lock (3:33)

17: Ride Out (4:37)

News Impac Impacts Hip-Hop with Debut Almost Famous

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2024 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved